top of page
  • Writer's pictureHHDG Media Inc.

Calcei - American Splendor (Album)

Detroit Emcee, Calcei (Sacramento, CA residing) is back with his second album of 2021. The first being The Bowling League and this new album American Splendor is not to be missed as well! Released on New years Eve! Nostalgia production with solid boom bap, jazz and rock mixed with what mature grown folks would are talking about. Collect your thoughts while listening and relating to Calcei's lyrics as the album takes a notable transition. Salute for keeping the foundation in Hip Hop with the DJ alive and well with those ill cuts by Pimpernel Jones.

Press release: Sacramento based emcee Calcei's new album "American Splendor" was inspired by the ongoing pandemic and its sociopolitical ramifications. The "American" side is political and dystopian. Cynicism and malaise drip from the biting lyrics. However, the "Splendor" side is lighter, more humorous, and whimsical. The dichotomy in tone and content mirrors the experience of many people during these trying times. Production is provided by frequent collaborators Olos, Pimpernel Jones, Monplacebo and Beatnick Classics. Mike E Eyebrowz also contributes sonically. All cuts and scratches are performed by Pimpernel Jones. PJ also mixed and mastered the project.

Listen, support and share below.

Cover graphic design by Karie Jamison (Five and Done)

Photography by Brandon C. Lewis:



Pimpernel Jones:

Beatnik Classics:

Mike E Eyebrowz:

Karie Jamison:

1. American Intro (produced by Pimpernel Jones) 01:14

2. American Splendor (produced by Pimpernel Jones) 02:46

3. Cash Bail (produced by Monplacebo) 03:56

4. Micro vs Macro (produced by Beatnick Classics) 02:58

5. It's Fun to Obey (produced by Beatnick Classics) 03:59

6. Mask on Mask off (produced by Monplacebo) 03:44

7. Splendor Intro (produced by Pimpernel Jones) 01:06

8. Wonder Years (produced by Beatnick Classics) 02:43

9. We Used to Bounce (produced by Mike E Eyebrowz) 04:09

10. Old Man Walks (produced by Beatnick Classics) 03:10

11. My Arms (produced by Beatnick Classics) 02:55

12. Gloin (produced by Olos) 02:32



28 views0 comments
bottom of page